poetry by the sea book awards

The sixth season for the Poetry by the Sea Book Awards, given to the best poetry book published the previous year, is open as of January 5th, 2024. The category is Best Book of 2023, and the winner will be awarded a prize of $500.


Submission Guidelines



1. Authors or publishers may nominate books. Book must have been published in 2023. Note: Books may contain individual translated poems but books in translation are not eligible.

2. Books must be submitted by pdf, using the Submittable link below. Please attach a pdf of the book and one of the cover to the Submittable form. [Note: Contest submissions are now fully digital which is a CHANGE from previous years.]

3. The entry fee of $50 is payable through Submittable [You do not need a Paypal account to enter]. Entries that are not accompanied by the appropriate payment will NOT be considered.

4. Deadline: March 1st 2024

2024 Final Judge – Jane Satterfield

Jane Satterfield has published five poetry books, including The Badass Brontës, a winner of the Diode Editions Poetry Prize, Apocalypse Mix (Autumn House Poetry Prize), Her Familiars, and Assignation at Vanishing Point (Elixir Press Poetry Award). She is the recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts poetry fellowship, the 49th Parallel Award for Poetry from Bellingham Review, the Ledbury Poetry Festival Prize, and more. Recent poetry and essays appear in About Place, The Common, DIAGRAM, Ecotone, Literary Matters, The Missouri Review, Orion, Tupelo Quarterly, and elsewhere. Satterfield has served on the faculty of the West Chester Poetry Conference and as the 2019 Salisbury, Maryland Poet-in-Residence. She is married to poet Ned Balbo and lives in Baltimore, where she is a professor of writing at Loyola University Maryland.

Thank you to the final judges, as well as to the poets who enter their fine work and continue to make this award possible.

2024 Jane Satterfield
2023 Allison Joseph
2022 Ned Balbo
2021 Barbara Crooker
2020 Matt W. Miller
2019 Panel: Dan Brown, Moira Egan, Allison Joseph, Joshua Mehigan, Marilyn Taylor 

Leave a Comment